Probably Joe Berwick's handiwork.

I never knew 3/4 of my Granparents and Joe was one of them. He must have been an accomplished sort of bloke though. We know, as fact, that he carved the church gates at Aspatria.
''The Man''/Clicky has a sideboard he made: the story was that he bought the plans for a 2-drawer/2 cupboard unit with carved panels on drawer and cupbard fronts.
He thought it ought to be wider, so he designed a third panel and made it 3 units wide instead of the 2 on the plans. I'm surprised it hasn't been Blipped.

We were she was ferreting around in a cupboard earlier today; emptying, cleaning, tidying, etc. when there was a sort of crash sound and this (which had been quietly standing against the interior edge for yonks) fell over and gave her a bit of a shock.
It's only about A4 and the back's scabbled as if to glue somewhere or other.

Scabbled? I was going to say ''Look it up.'' but I can't find it.

P.S. I was having Browser problems, I've just looked up ''Scabble'' on the boss's iPad and found it.


Thereby hangs a tale...

I was, twice, at Fire Service College, Moreton in Marsh. On one occasion I remarked ''Careful crossing here, you might scabble your shoes.''
Reaction ...'' DUH?!? Was ist scabble?''

I was vindicated several months later, long after the course parted to far-flung points, I was watching and item on T.V. when the bloke on the screen held up an item and announced
''We call this the Scabbling head.''

It seems the word has remained in common use in Cumbrian, if not the general populace.
:¬))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.