Sgt Lewis RAMC

Today would have been my fathers 100th birthday. Pictured here during the war as a Sergeant in the Royal Army Medical Corp.

Like many my father's influence on life has been more than most despite his death as far back as 1981. If not for him I doubt I would have been in Shetland as all my holidays as a youngster were in the Highlands or Northern Scotland far away from tourist areas which is what I still prefer. Travelling to the North of Scotland in the 60's and 70's was a bigger challenge than it is today. He and my mother were known to put the car on the train from Stirling to Inverness to make the journey easier. Although he never made it to Shetland I know he would have loved the place as I could see him spending all his time fishing. He was also responsible for my first camera a fully manual (you have to know the basics) Zenith.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.