In memory

Very sadly my mother in law passed away on Sunday morning, Saturday afternoon UK  time.  My photo today is a collection of a few of my favourite photos of her.   She visited us in Sydney in 1990 and again in 1994. She was with for Christmas.  She was a wonderful lady, she served in the WRAF during the war as a radio operator, and was fluent in morse code.  When I met her in 1972 she was a mother of three teenagers and working as a traffic  warden.  Later she worked for the police on the switch board.  A few years after retiring she became a widow.  That did  not stop her, she got her driving licence and would visit us when we were living nr Blackpool, and when we moved to Lindfield, in West Sussex.  So naturally visiting us in  Sydney was inevitable.  We spoke on the phone regularly.  It was very hard for us when the phone calls became impossible, dementia stole her from us. She ended her days in care.  Finally she suffered a stroke which left her in a coma, phnumonia set in.   We will miss her greatly.  She was a beautiful strong lady who would do anything for her family. Her grandchildren lovingly called her Granny Grumps.  I called her Grandma.  
So I say goodbye Grandma I will miss you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.