A Moment of Serenity at the Lake

Dear Diary,

After a very busy weekend, I was so pleased to experience this quiet moment of blissful serenity at Sebago Lake.  With our recent warm weather, the lake had a comforting blanket of fog and the soft blues were lovely.  Mount Washington in the distance is snow covered of course but the rest of my area is strangely devoid of snow.  This time last year we had storm after storm that left me buried in the white stuff.

This photograph was taken from the causeway in Naples. The extra photograph is from the other side of the causeway.    During the summer months this place is crowded with tourists.  Sebago Lake is a popular vacation spot.  But now it is peaceful and deliciously empty.  This view always reminds me of the photographs you see of Mt. Fuji in Japan rising out of the mists.  I flew over Mt. Fuji in 2007 and it seemed surreal.  Mount Washington is a much older mountain and it lacks the pointy peak of Mt. Fuji, which is a volcanic mountain.  But I love the old "Mount" and viewed from across the lake like this it has just the same power to impress me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.