pointandhope

By PointandHope

Water wall

This is the morning after the flood.

You would hardly believe this stretch of road was impassible to most vehicles on Sat afternoon, just a few hours before.
On Sat morning there wasn't a stone out of place. but the force of the water brought this stone wall down in the afternoon.

Having driven through countless stretches of water, and taken several detours, to get to this point, this was one mass of water I didn't dare attempt in  a car.
So a kind farmer transported me and my mum (in her mid 80's) from the other side of the river, back to her home, in a tractor.  Leaving my car stranded  on the other side of the river(but safe).

This shot is the next morning (Sunday) when you would not know there had been anything amiss.

Of all the decades my mum has lived in the dale, she had never seen floods like the one on Saturday.

She wont forget this day and neither will I.

Thank you to Keith (and his tractor).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.