Grandpont Nature Park – 10.28 on 8 December 2015

 2hours 30 minutes after sunrise.
 
Week 49 of the series.


“The sixth age shifts…”
She walked slowly down the path, recalibrating her balance with each step while the dog bounded. It took her a slow, unsteady time from when I first saw her until she passed me. Every now and then the dog stopped, watched, checked, readjusted its pace to hers.

And in the difference between the two I suddenly realised…
As for most people I  know, time has gone faster as I’ve got older. For quite a bit of it I’ve thought that the reason is that each day is a smaller percentage of all that’s gone before. But perhaps it has something to do with us using time more slowly as we age, managing to fit very slightly less into each minute.

I used to reckon from alarm to out-of-the door was 45 minutes. Now I allow an hour. The lost 15 minutes may well be to do with having the blip app on my phone, but perhaps that’s only 10 minutes. Perhaps everything else just takes slightly longer.

Then this morning, somehow. everything took a lot longer. I wasn’t working so I went to the nature park a bit later than usual – 10.30ish. When I got back I made some coffee then looked at the clock and it was 11.30. An hour full of nothing. And the coffee wasn’t even cold. Very perplexing, this time stuff.
 
“The time is out of joint”
The extra is for Tivoli - taken in our garden this morning. Not alone at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.