"Baby, You're a Firework"

There is nothing like New York City at Christmas time. 

I am here for a few days to visit my younger two sons. There are a number bus lines that go from DC to NYC and a round trip ticket is reasonably priced and a lot less expensive than the train.  More importantly, (and much to my  husband’s chagrin) the drop-off site in Manhattan is exactly one half block from B&H Photo.  So of course, I stopped there before I went anywhere. 

Once I settled in at my youngest son’s apartment, I walked over to Rockefeller Center to see the Christmas tree and to try my hand at some stealth street photography. There were so many interesting people having a good time. Most were so busy taking selfies in front of the big Christmas tree that no one noticed me.  I must have looked like a fool walking around with this big smile on my face.  I had such a great time. 

The Salvation Army was on several corners with their bells and kettles.  They also had boom boxes that were playing loud lively holiday music and pop music. This young lady was rocking it out and lip-syncing to Katy Perry’s “Firework.” A crowd gathered and everyone was dancing and singing along.  My extra photo is of another S.A. volunteer on another corner channeling his inner JohnTravolta and rocking it out to “Staying Alive.”  I had a very hard time choosing today’s photo so I have loaded some others to Flickr, if you are interested. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.