CBLinks

By gallusboy

Oh, Vienna #4

Midge Ure, formerly of the band Ultavox, may have sung "This means nothing to me, Oh Vienna!" but for my wife and I it means just so much.

We first visited the city in 1998 to celebrate my 50th birthday and our 36th wedding anniversary (possibly just 26th, as pointed out by a pointed comment from a pointed lady below!).

It is a majestic city, with magnificent architecture, wonderful museums, stunning parks and at this time of year the added attraction of Christmas Markets in beautiful settings. That first visit snow fell on the second day and Vienna became a winter wonderland, it was magical!

At a time when no city in Scotland celebrated Christmas with markets, lights and music in the style that Vienna did it was just such different and delightful experience.

Over the years we have returned to the city several times and on each occasion we have left with very happy memories and this year will be no different.

In the image I have posted I have tried to encapsulate what makes Vienna so special for me. It was taken at the market which has the classical building that is the Upper Belvedere as its backdrop. This museum is home to the art nouveau of Gustav Klimt, stunning works of art but it is his pastoral scenes that I like most of all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.