Sunlight and evaluation

I love our house and especially when the sun warms the back room on a chilly day.  Jess is in the perfect stream of sunlight spot.

I spent a great deal of last week and last night writing Christmas cards and, in some of them, enclosing a printed page of family news, cringe-worthy I know, but which I have been doing for years. Now the onerous job is done I am trying to re-evaluate why I do this and whether it is time to move on.

Pros:
I receive lots of Christmas cards back
I love hearing news from friends/family
I feel connected with people that I don't see often

Cons:
Is it self indulgent and pointless? Most people I know are on Facebook and if they wanted to know my news could find it out there,. (Blip automatically posts).
I feel I have to hand-write the cards and the envelopes soooo ....it takes hours
Bad for the planet...?
I feel time-pressured about doing them and mostly inadequate that I can't write a personal message.
Expensive.

So essentially I feel that I am social-media connected with most of my Christmas card targets and feel I 'over-share' my life on a day to day basis.  So, who cares about a Christmas card from me?  But where do you draw the line?  

What do other people think/do?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.