Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Snowdrop

I have spent most of the day catching up after my two weeks of marking when I did very little else. Some housework has been done as well as a lot of washing and other jobs.
 
After lunch I decided that I needed to find a pot big enough to take the Christmas tree that I purchased yesterday. It is already in a pot, being pot grown, but I needed a larger one for it to sit in.
 
While looking for a suitable pot I heard a noise, it appeared to be a rabbit, although it looked quite large for a rabbit so I thought it might be a hare. It was trapped in our fenced off vegetable garden and could not get out. It was the smallest Reeves Muntjac deer that I have ever seen. I had to fetch my husband to help me to get it out; I am not sure how it got in as it could not jump over the fence, but kept charging at the wire. We managed to lower the fence a little and it very quickly found its way out. It seemed unharmed and charged across the garden and out into the marsh where the deer live. I suspect it is a little battered and scratched but hopefully will be okay. I would like to have taken its photograph, but did not go indoors for a camera as it needed to be rescued as soon as possible and not distressed further.
 
In the autumn I purchased some ‘early flowering Snowdrops’, but being a bit of a doubting Thomas I did not think they would appear any earlier than the normal ones, especially as they went into the ground late. As you can see from today’s picture they have appeared and this is one of the three flowers that so far have appeared. I also noticed that a daffodil has two buds on it; I am saving that for tomorrow!
 
 
 
 
 
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.