Lot

By Lot

Falafel

Today is a sunny day, so I wanted to make something light that tastes like summer. So combining my love for green salads and for falafel seemed like a good idea :)

I have tried many versions of falafel. Of course I know that you can buy it in the supermarket, but I got bored with the taste of the prefab version. I prefer to make it myself and change little things about the recipe each time so it stays interesting. And the recipe from Claudia Rodens famous cookbook 'The Book of Jewish Food' is perfect for this. It's also a wonderful book to read, since it combines anthropology and cooking and is very well written! I recommend it to anyone.

This falafel was made with broad beans instead of chickpeas, which is a lovely variation. It differs from the original in that I have not deep fried the falafel in oil, but baked them in the oven. Also, I did not think it would be a good idea to use six cloves of garlic, so I only used two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.