A_Beagle_Dad

By Beagledad

Small victories

It's been a frustrating few days on the spanners.  
My Freelander stubbornly refused to give up her knackered brake discs and hid the bolts for her clutch master cylinder where only an anorexic dwarf could reach them to undo. (Lord alone knows who they employed back then in British Leyland).
To boot, my back and shoulder decided they hated the process so much they went on strike for 24 hours. 
This however is a small victory. It's an old 6v headlamp from a 1970's Ural, the headlight was soldered in place in the reflector. 
This is it after desoldering and modifying the bulb holder to take a modern 12v LED light so it can become the auxiliary light on the sidecar. It'll be switched high and low with the bikes light. The speedo will be switched out for a clock. 
It doesn't look much but it was very satisfying to get back on the winning side of the table. 
Tomorrow we attempt the brakes again and I have an Elfine helper to undo the clutch cylinder. 
As Woofcity devotes most of her blips to our wolfpack (including Dave) and I need inspiration sometimes to get into the workshop I'm going to devote most of my blips to workshop and bikes although Dave being Dave I'm sure he'll still feature on occasions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.