Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Roast Pepper, Tomato, Chili and Carrot soup

The weather was pretty horrid today, wet & windy so after a quick pint at Teuchter's Landing I headed home. I hadn't made any soup in a while so I decided to some nice hot home made soup to keep me warm. I decided to roast some peppers (never tried this before). I brushed them in oil liquid smoke then stuck them in the oven, they cooked well enough but I had a lot of hassle trying to get the skin off them. I lightly sautéed a finely chopped onion with three medium chilis and then added a few chopped carrots and a carton of chopped onion. 

After cooking for some time I then blended everything together until my little electric hand blender broke :-( So it was still pretty chunky. 

It tasted quite good but you couldn't really taste the roasted peppers much, probably too much tomato and carrots. The next day it was pretty thick so I watered it down a bit and decided to put it through a sieve, it was so much better, the chili came through and it was much spicier, also less of a carrot taste as I sieved out quite a few large carrot chunks :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.