Light in the Darkness

I had a bushel of errands to run in various parts of town this morning, despite the dark, wet weather. One errand brought me to Allied Arts -- conveniently located two doors down from Chocolate Necessities, another place I needed to visit.

Allied Arts has a lovely display area, and this month's focus was on "art that exemplifies, honors, or or speaks to the importance of light." This Salish Sea Marquetry Floor Lantern was made by the artists of Terra Firma, Tom and Jennifer Dolese. 

Phil knows them through the Northwest Corner Woodworkers Association, and I met them at the NCWA holiday party last year. I'm in awe of the beauty they create, and in the midst of an overly commercial holiday season and the 24/7 "news" stream, it's a pleasure to be in the presence of handmade objects that are both lovely and useful.

Blip 1427

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.