Gobsmacked.

Totally & utterly GOBSMACKED.
So there I was, minding other folks' business, as you do on these "Social Network" thingies when I was messaged by a total stranger, in the isle of Wight who addressed me thusly:-
"Hello Brian,
Not sure how to say this so here go!! I believe we might have a common ancestor Alice Kane nee Berwick she would have been my great grandmother niece I think, does the name Betsy  Law from Silloth mean anything to you? Please feel free to contact if you wish W***** D**** I'm on Facebook on the old Aspatria page and on 2 Silloth sites."
The interchange proceeded.... and I discovered that:-
A) He was indeed, a distant relative I didn't know existed.
B) He had traced his ancestry back to the late 1700s.
C) He had, & sent, a photo of Mam from the Hists of Mistory, which I had never set eyes on.
I have in my possession a whole TWO photos of her, This one, from a friend in Wigton and one of her in her 40s/50s at a local carnival as  Gypsy.
SO, understandably I was both gobsmacked & chuffed to hear/see this lot.

I OUGHT to add ... I left the tiny pointing fist as proof I'd "shot" it from the computer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.