December Sunrise Over Mount Nittany

Thank you for stopping by to help celebrate my four-year blippiversary!

I took many photos on this day, as I was out and about through town and campus, with meetings and errands and such. But somehow it turns out (quite accidentally, or then again, maybe not) that the two photos I am choosing to post for this day represent two of the icons of the Penn State experience.

The main photo above is a morning shot: a picture of Mount Nittany just after sunrise. We had six foggy mornings in a row; and then on this day, merely ground mist. I enjoyed watching the peach light around a blue Mount Nittany, in a scene that looked almost like a painting to me.

My afternoon took me through campus and to the Nittany Lion Inn, where their marvelous gingerbread replica of the Inn is on display for the holidays. The little Inn looks JUST LIKE the big one! (You have seen the Inn a few times before, as well as its world famous lobster bisque.)

You have already met the crittergators and their friends the Dancing Girls on these pages. We were fresh out of Dancing Girls, but the crittergators accompany me everywhere, and so they enjoyed some adventures on the gingerbread scene.

You can see them clustered around the little Christmas tree, singing carols of the season, in the foreground of the extra photo. From there, they capered and pranced upon the roof, not unlike Santa's reindeer. And no, nobody walking past even looked at me strangely as I was posing them. If anyone ever asked, "Why?" I'd simply respond, smiling and nodding, "It's an Art Project." (Isn't everything?)

Now, I'd like to take a minute on this day to say something that's been weighing heavily on my mind. I've been reading about the future of Blipfoto on these pages, and I finally want to chime in. There is a rumor going around that Blip is in trouble and that some marvelously brave and well respected blippers have stepped in to try to help save it.

As a U.S.-based blipper, I haven't been able to do much to help so far. But please know that we in the U.S. love Blipfoto too, and we want to see it continue! (My prayer on this day is that this is NOT my LAST blip-birthday.)

So please do all you can to help save Blipfoto, and we will too, as we are able. All of these wonderful photos you all have posted, all of these stories, all of these comments that include messages of friendship, and hope, and encouragement from countries far away. How could we bear to see it all end? No, we just can't let it happen! Please help save Blipfoto. Please stand with us, and keep the faith.

My custom is to share on each journal entry one photo (on occasion, even two), one story, and one song. The tune to accompany this post containing my anniversary photos as well as my beseeching plea to keep Blip running strong is Bon Jovi, with Keep the Faith.

Thank you all for everything! 
 With much love from America, from the GirlWithACamera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.