Victorian Platform

I went on the behind the scenes tour of Glasgow Central Station today to see some amazing history.  I was with a group of photography enthusiasts so we were given a bit longer and allowed time to set up and take pictures.

Its a fascinating place and wandering around derelict tunnels far below street level brings the history to life. We ended up at an old Victorian Platform where I took this photograph of a shadowy 'Victorian' character.    Very dark down there -  we had one or two lights with us but still needed long exposures or very high Iso (this one is something like 12,800 which I didn't even think was possible!). 

Thanks to Neil for being the 'model' in this one, and Jim for looking the part in the 'Extra'.   (I just escaped being a model myself - I was next in line as only the relatively 'thin ones' could get into that coat!! 

(Interestingly the tour used to include a climb onto the massive glass roof over the station - it contains 48,00 panes of glass and I think is the largest in Europe - but it has temporarily stopped due to so many people dropping their camera phones on it!). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.