the sunrise hour

By kittyhawk

The Difference

Today I went for my interview and registration at St John Ambulance HQ! I was pretty nervous but it all went well and I met some lovely people! I've going to the Imperial College LINKS training sessions, which have been really fun and it's been great practicing scenarios where I have the knowledge to step in and help someone. Having said that, it is pretty challenging trying to remember what to do in a high-pressure situation and trying to deal with the "patients" (who are all my friends trying to act like difficult patients). 

I'm really looking forward to going on duty and actually helping people! Lots of people in my family work for the NHS (including my dad, who's a paramedic on the NHS ambulances!) and I am inspired by their kindness. 

The titles for this photo is 'The Difference' as that's St John's motto, as in, learning first aid could be the difference between someone living and dying. That alone, is enough to volunteer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.