Photo Journey

By notabit

Hark, the Herald ...

I know this angel isn't singing, she's playing a trumpet, but my association was "Hark, the herald angels sing..."

I think the thing I like best about Christmas are the Christmas carols. Not the German ones, also nice, which I got to know as an adult, but the English carols I sang as a child. On Christmas Eve my mother took a group ofus children around in our little street to sing under our neighbors' windows. Perhaps it was only once, I don't remember, but it made an idelible impression on me.

Just browsed a bit in the Internet and discovered that the lyrics of "Hark, the herald..." are English, but they were set to music written by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, a German composer, 100 years later.

O Tannenbaum is in the extras, blip taken in front of Munich's Feldherrnhalle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.