Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Dead and gone - by Tuesday

The power tripped off twice yesterday.  I blamed the blizzards my diagnosis was niggling away at me - I couldn't relate power cuts to snowfall - so I went around the house this morning checking all appliances on the ring main.  Across in the garage the tumble drier was running but making a rumbling metallic noise.  Gotchya!  It would appear from the metal filings that the bearing has gone kaput so it's all been despatched to the bin and should be collected on Tuesday.  It was a 6 year old beast, C rated energy and will be replaced with a B rated larger capacity tin box at £35 less than the old one.   When checking the Indesit website I noticed that it is one that was being recalled for an electrical 'fire risk' fix.   Win, win.

Oh yes, and the pic is the disgusting fluff filled vent pipe.  Now imagine if that lot had caught fire.  I found out about the risk by chance.  I suspect the insurance company would have all the excuses in the world to wriggle out of that claim had the garage burned down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.