Life In Wales

By KarenC

Covent Garden

We've walked miles again today - Covent Garden to Trafalgar Square, down Whitehall to Westminster, across Westminster Bridge and along the South Bank to the Millennium Bridge.  

There were lots of little Christmas chalets so we had a look at these before crossing the bridge to St Paul's Cathedral where we stopped and listened to Christmas carols by a brass band playing Euphoniums & Sousaphones.  We carried on along Fleet Street where we jumped on a bus back to Aldwych and then walked up Drury Lane to a Belgian cafe bar where we'd booked a table for lunch.

The cafe was a great find, with so many Belgian beers to choose from as well as one of our favourite dishes from when we lived there - Carbonnade Flamande which is basically a beef stew cooked in Trappist beer.

We got home about 7pm and are both tired, but we've had a great weekend and the celebrations continue on Tuesday which is Alan's actual  birthday.

I was torn with my choice of blip today, but decided on the 'street theatre' at Covent Garden and have put my other choices in my extras.   One is of the band  and I really like the reflections of St Paul's Cathedral in the Euphoniums - in one of them, you can just about see Alan and I on the steps of the Cathedral.  The other is of some hand painted candle holders - I love their bright colours, but also the stall holder who photo-bombed my picture, but actually added to it.

Time for feet up and a glass of wine - hope you've had a good weekend too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.