Grandma's rose

Another damp, grey day - when will summer actually arrive? The only benefit was that I had a day off fieldwork, which gave me a chance to enter some data, identify mosses and lichens and catch up with emails. Ben and I made a carrot and apricot cake which was delicious, but that was pretty much the highlight of the day!

We were just about to eat dinner when I realised there was no blip. A quick dash out into the mizzle was required to capture grandma's rose at its best.We planted this about seven years ago and it struggled to get established thanks to our difficult clay soil, competition with existing shrubs and a series of spring and summer droughts. But the continuous wet weather has suited it and it is smothered in smoky purple blooms which contrast well with the yellow Hypericum and the white Philadelphus. And the whole area smells divine. I just wish my Mum was still here to enjoy it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.