Nikksnacks

By Nikksnacks

Cake expectations

I decided to set myself a challenge today and bake one of my Mum's favourite cake recipes - a sour cream coffee cake.

The recipe sounds simple enough and my Mum's cake always turned out perfectly every time but, of course, I should've known that this was due to my mother's amazing skills in the kitchen (not to be easily replicated by an amateur like me!)

This was the only slice of the cake that turned out remotely photographable (is that a word?) ... alas, the majority of the cake stuck to the bundt tin when I tried to turn it out of the tin. It did, however, taste delicious ...

Just to describe the cake: it's a lovely vanilla butter sour cream cake with a swirl of cinnamon in the middle (made of cinnamon, brown sugar & ground mixed nuts) as well as garnished on the top of the cake.

There's a similar recipe on the web here: http://thecuttingedgeofordinary.blogspot.co.uk/2009/02/maple-sour-cream-coffee-cake.html

(The only change I would make is to also put some of the cinnamon topping at the bottom of the bundt tin before adding any batter)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.