Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Childhood Garden

Been really busy today spending most of my time helping build kennels for our new gamekeeper. Fortunately Rosamund had also been busy transferring some old slides to my PC, which provided the opportunity to post a favourite old picture.

This shot was taken in the early 1970's at our family home in Eaglesham. It shows the old court yard with buildings that were formerly stables, byres and garages. Our father loved the garden and spent many hours managing the flowers in this shot or painting the white walls with lime.

This picture brings back many fond memories, my favourite being my 21st birthday party which was held in the yard. We had a BBQ (actually an old metal dustbin with a fire inside) and a disco (a friend set up his turntable, amp and speakers in the garage). The weather was great and we even made a point of checking with some elderly neighbours that the noise level wasn't annoying them! My friends all thought it was the best party ever!

So today's blip is a blip of a blip from a very memorable point in my life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.