Confessions

I know I shouldn't say this as it's only my opinion, but I don't like Fuengirola. Today we've walked to the beach and walked along the Paseo Maritimo (road along the beach) and the very beach is quite nice. Nothing wrong with that. Just your normal Costa del Sol beach with shops, hotels, bars, restaurants and some apartment houses. You know how it's like. The walk is very nice. There's art to watch and beautiful landscape where every you look. It's nice. It's fairly clean. Just bueno.

It's the city. It's narrow, tight, cramped, noisy, loud, intense. No sign of mañana living there. And it seems to go on and on. It's huge. It never ends.

We live in the suburbs of Fuengirola in an area called Los Pacos. There's at least 5000 Finns living in this part of town. To most Finns this is a wonderful place. There's lots of activities in your own language. You have company and community. Even church. And I'm sure they look at the streets with nothing but affection. This place just isn't for me, for us. We lived in an island in front of Helsinki, so we're used to open spaces and room to roam.

This road we now live on is quiet and tranquil. Luckily. My aunt and her husband have an orange tree that drops oranges for us to eat. Just yummy! So we're able to be here, we just don't wanna stay here. And I apologize to everyone who loves it here for my lack of love for this place.

BTW; I don't mind all the Finns here.
I think that's quite quirky in a charming way... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.