Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas lights in London

Adam had to go to London today for an interview. I decided to go with him and to take some photos of the Christmas lights. However, he also decided he needed a few items of clothing, so after his interview, there we were, trying to shop in Regents Street, with me carrying a full frame camera and my tripod and it had just started to rain. As expected it was so busy with all the Christmas shoppers and tourists and setting up a tripod was almost impossible. Despite that, I got a few shots, he got the clothes he needed (at a very useful 15% student discount) and then we headed home on a very full and slightly delayed train.

I usually avoid these busy areas at peak holiday times but I really wanted to see the Christmas lights. Regent Street often has the best lights, but this year they are sponsored by Jo Malone and feature shimmering golden sequins, cogs and coils - not that striking, in my opinion! Oxford Street was prettier but less original with gold and silver balls. I should have gone to Bond Street but by now I was tired of the crowds and wanted to get home to Thomas who was waiting for supper!

I have added some extra shots of Regent Street and Carnaby street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.