Return to the North

By Viking

Signposts of life

As some of you who follow my journal will know, I've had an 'interesting' and challenging 2 years down here in the Deep South. Now I'm not normally one for souls baring in here but thought I better bring you all up to speed (then you will understand the blips to come)
Having being a resilient person all my life (bouncing back after a divorce and the death of both parents, amongst other stuff) I thought I was up for the challenge of the job I had to do down here.
In mid October my brain and body decided otherwise and after a very dark night a voice rang out and told me to go to the doctors. I have been off work ever since having suffered a breakdown. A breakdown that has seen me lose the sense of who I am and what I am worth. Being inside my head for the last two months or so has been pretty scary!
I headed up to Christchurch initially where my very dear friends nurses me back to some semblance of health and after much soul searching and discussion I came back down South to resign.

Now I am 51 years old (well nearly) and in the next few days I will be living with friends with no job and no income- very scary! But not as scary as losing my sense of who I am, which is what was happening here.

The signpost is a positive - it's the way out, it's the way forward .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.