People on a Bridge

By zerohour

SP1

In honor of this week's challenge (self-portrait), you will be seeing a lot of me in the upcoming days.

I don't like being a center of attention, even of my own attention, for attention's sake. I don't mind being the catalyst for making stuff happen, but an honest pat on the back from a few key individuals is all I require to feel appreciated. No plaques and speeches, please, until my contributions reach unprecedented levels. :-)

Something cool happened to me today. A friend sent me a scientific article a few weeks ago, relating to my research. I had some questions about it, and we planned to meet after the semester's end. I emailed him today asking whether he is free this week. He replied he could meet, but only today, as he is leaving town tomorrow. I rushed to reassure him that I don't actually NEED anything this second, and it could wait. To which he wrote he is rather busy tying lose ends today before his trip, so January would be better.

Why is this cool, you ask? Because my kind colleague was ready do whatever it took to meet with me if I needed his help before he left.

I felt grateful and humbled by our exchange. Merry Christmas, and safe travels, Your Tallness. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.