My Great Success Story

By SavvyStereo

Violin in the Parry

Today I returned to Eton in the afternoon to teach the first of this week's summer school lessons. Each afternoon I get a different class of kids from the Brent area and have an hour and a half to do some music technology with them. They were really nice, very quiet, and seemed to enjoy the lesson.

Immediately after the lesson I was in the studio, recording Jenny (a piano VMT at Eton) and her son, Emmanuel, who plays violin, in the Parry hall. First off was a Bach solo violin, followed by a beautiful Brahms piano and violin piece. Apart from the numerous planes ruining takes, it went incredibly well. They are amazing musicians and I think I could end up using the piece for my portfolio next year.

They paid me £50, I tried to refuse, but they insisted, sothat's really nice. They also asked if I would be interested in recording them again in September, which I definitely am!

After the session I went for a walk to Windsor to buy some peach ice tea, yeah! I ended up getting a takeaway curry, a whole lamb bhuna, pilau rice, keema naan and complementary poppadums to myself! I'm ashamed to say I ate all of it... I also said goodbye to Jing Hao as he is leaving tomorrow for Dalian, China. Hopefully I will see him again. It's as good excuse as any to visit some place new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.