Moth on peaches

I'm pretty sure this moth will cause no damage to the peaches. It flew there when I gently disturbed it. It was on a white pole with lettering and just not very photogenic. I doubted if I would get a second chance to photograph the moth because they don't settle for long. This one not only stayed on the peaches while I took flash photos but stayed there for almost a half-hour until I came out and took this photo without flash.

As you can see we have peaches this year. We also have apricots and plums but our nectarine tree is producing only one nectarine. We have a flock of white-crowned sparrows descend on us every spring. This year they ate our lettuce down to the last few ribs and destroyed many of our fruit blossoms. Oh well, the trees will have lots of energy stored up to produce fruit next year. I read somewhere that sparrows are edible. Hmmmmmm, I wonder what a blossom-fed sparrow tastes like. Darned small drumsticks, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.