Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

A surfeit of blips

Struggling to find a blip in the past few days, a trip to Leeds today had them jumping out at me every few minutes. And that was without taking the camera out in the hospital, the reason for my trip.
However, the ten guys who were bringing the frantic shoppers to a halt have to be the blip for the day. Great jazz takes on Christmas favourites had just about everyone reaching in their pockets. There was, however, a sad side to it, as I'll relate below.
In the extras are the full 'band', Marinela who runs a Romanian food shop in Kirkgate market where I went to order food items for New Year's Eve, and the lovely Turkish lady handing me my (delicious) lunch a few paces away.
The sad bit? When I asked the musicians where they came from they said Spain. I told them I didn't believe it, in Romanian. They then admitted they were in fact from Galați in Romania. Sadly, Romanians often feel it necessary to try to hide their origin, thanks in no small measure to Farage.
When Farage said he wouldn't want to live next to a Romanian, the witty Romanian response was "Nici eu n-aș vrea am vecin pe fărașul ăsta" - "I wouldn't want to live next to that dustpan (făraș) either". Făraș is pronounced very like Farage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.