Leiflife

By Leiflife

Pain Au Chocolate

This is my version, made for Olivia on Saturday for her 20th birthday. By that time I had been to the emergency room with agonizing pain and been given a muscle relaxant and a pain killer for relief. And relief it was; even half a dose of the prescribed amount made it possible for me to let my heart and my hands take flight for Livvy's pleasure. By the time she arrived with her brother, Wyatt, to sample the warm oat bread filled with melted chocolate, I was positively silly with love and foolishness. And they went along with it, encouraging their Nanny to relax and go with the flow. We all indulged, laughing at the decadence of warm bread with drippy chocolate, complimented by cold milk. One could almost bless the pain that allowed one's inhibitions to be abandoned...for a little while.

Today Olivia is having surgery on her poor dear foot. It is the second surgery to correct a problem that originated in childhood. She was eleven the first time. Now the problem has brought considerable pain, and pray heaven this time it will be resolved. She will have the holidays to do some recuperating, but she is hoping to resume her sophomore year at college, even with crutches and a scooter. May she go forth with courage and her inimitable Olivia style... 

I was hoping to share my bread recipe which is the basis for my Pain Au Chocolate. But I am not sure I can sit here long enough. It is a very improvisational Oat Honey Bread wrapped around squares of bittersweet chocolate and baked. Maybe next time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.