bananablip

By bananablip

Carolling

Tonight was Shrewsbury's Carols in the Square. Delightful. Although we were perched right out Patisserie Valerie and so I was a little distracted, drooling over cakes.

I then had a rather embarrassing moment in the Lion Hotel when myself and an older gentleman gave each other the 'I think I know you' smile. Assuming it was somebody from one of our local supporting churches I said hi and that I knew his face but wasn't quite sure where from. 
He replied 'I work at Waitrose'.  
'Oh', I responded, 'I just really feel like I know you'.
'Well, you do come in every day'.

Shamed.

We were invited by neighbour Nigel to attend the 'Shrewsbury Residents Association' mulled wine and mince pie evening. Never ones to turn down a free glass of wine, off we went. More embarrassment. The Shrewsbury Residents are a very well dressed and very well spoken bunch and we did feel a little out of place. Thankfully, Nigel rescued us and took us over to somebody he has been meaning to introduce us to for a while now. Ninety year old, Lalage, who spent some time in Zambia during her working life. An amazing, fascinating lady with clearly a lot more stories to tell than one short evening could allow. An academic who had worked all over Africa, she then helped to found the University of Zambia. And then helped to found a charity which now works to empower women in several countries around the world. Really looking forward to meeting her again in the new year for more stories!

(Oh, and it's a blip anniversary. Six full years of my life on here, although it's taken more like eight years to get here. Wish I'd have taken a better picture now!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.