At Last

By 8

Dec 13th so it must be the Flea Market

Got to that stage of the trip when the days and sights and museums all start to merge into a disorienting kaleidoscope.
In a nice way of course.
Saturday morning my host took us to an enthralling flea market. Wonderfully shady characters straight from the Third Man - gypsies and locals and tourists all mushed in together. Me with my hot little hands clinging to my purse and camera, so wanting to take pictures and so frustrated that it was too squished to do so.
And how to buy something?
My German is non existent, luckily my host was on hand.
I spied this pewter vase. We went for it. So glad I did... I have this feeling if I'd left it there it would be one of those things I always wished I bought.
The big burley foreign bloke wanted 40 euros.
E is the eternal doubting Thomas in these situations... always worrying that it isn't  the real thing and that we're paying too much.
I have a different approach.
I decide in my head how much I want to pay. I buy it because I love it - and if it turns out to be the genuine article - then it's a bonus.
30 euros seemed okay to me :-) I'll keep my paint brushes in it and I will think of that crazy market and the sound of all those different tongues.
The market was overlooked by some of the most stunning art nouveau architecture I have seen outside of Paris.
A whole street - everywhere you looked.
Suzi - my friend/host told us the story of the first time she let her pet rabbit out into the garden - how it gazed about open-mouthed in amazement. We laughed - and had lots of rabbit-in-the-garden moments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.