fran_cesca

By fran_cesca

I had a mass mutiny on my hands when I told my year 9 (set 2) reading group the rules for their reading next term. These were:
15 weeks = three books = one book / five weeks
NO Zoella
NO David Walliams (but miss, 'grumpy grandpa' is like 200 pages long)
NO Diary of a Wimpy Kid - I mean, seriously?
NO Jacqueline Wilson
One must be a novel (as opposed to David Beckham biographies)
One should be a literary novel.

Honestly, bearing in mind that these kids will be reading Frankenstein from cover to cover for a closed book exam where they're expected to know quotes off by heart, I wasn't expecting such a petulant reaction. One girl yelled, 'that's IT! If I can't read Zoella, I'm NOT READING AT ALL'
This is why they write like primary school kids (or worse).

Thankfully the sky was very beautiful this evening. The world is bigger than 30 rude, stubborn and dense 13 year olds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.