Flower Friday - the New Zealand Christmas Tree

This is a pohutukawa flower in the process of opening. I love the way they unfurl from the tightly packed buds.  The stunning red flowers open at Christmas which is why it is referred to as the NZ Christmas Tree.   I have included an extra showing the fully opened flower. (plus bee)

This is possibly my last blip for a couple of weeks. Tomorrow I fly to  the North Island to have Christmas with the family. It is a very special get together this year as my eldest daughter  who lives in Germany, is joining us with her husband, two teenaged sons and her husband's brother, at my youngest daughter's home in Cambridge.   It is 10 years since the boys have been to NZ - such a long time. I have watched them grow up on Skype.

After Christmas  we  come back here to the top of the South Island and they will have another 2 weeks with us. My son is coming  from Australia for that part to catch up with his sister.

I wont have my laptop with me, just a mini iPad. I know I can use it to blip if something really special  crops up but am not going worry if it doesn't. I will still be able to see everyone's blips and hopefully comment as time allows.

So. all my Blip friends, have a merry Christmas and be safe where ever you are and whatever you do.  See you in the New Year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.