Snow Globes

Dear Diary,

I have always loved snow globes and I could easily collect them but I content myself with just this one.  I bought it years ago at L.L. Bean.  It reminds me of Betty Ann and me when we were little.  I guess you would say we were BFF's back in the day.  We started school together in 1955 and even though our lives took very different directions, we have stayed in touch ever since. 

The extra photograph is at my 8th birthday in 1957.  Betty Ann is on the left and I am on the right.  Another friend, Ann, is in the middle.  I haven't seen or spoken to her since we graduated high school 48 years ago.  Funny how some people you stay in touch with and others just slip away.

Our parents were best friends too and, ironically, are buried side by side which was quite inadvertent and unplanned.  As I searched for a photograph of us I realized so many of the ones I have, which aren't that many really, are very badly degraded with time.  I will try to see her in the New Year and see if she has any photographs. In the meantime, I just shake the globe and old memories swirl around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.