CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

BEE & BETONY*

I finished my deadlines (hooray!) and decided I deserved a walk and a cuppa at the RSPB reserve at Saltholme, but arrived as usual just as the cafe was closing. :-(

I took lots of photos for *the alphabet challenge: Bergenia with a Bug, the Transporter Bridge in the distance, Buntings, Bullocks, and a Baby swallow waiting on a post for its mum to return, but I liked this the best. It's a Bumble Bee on stachys, also known as woolly Betony (and Stachys was also the name of the first Bishop of Byzantium - thank you Wikipedia).

Back later - I'm off to choir practice (gig on Friday). I could have taken a photo of the Basses and Baritones, but lovely people though they are, they're not quite as photogenic as this bee.

Bigger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.