What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Buttermere

Another that ties in with the July challenge today - B for Buttermere.

The wettest June on record has given higher than normal water levels, with the level of Buttermere sitting nicely at tree root level. Setting my tripod as low as possible, I was able to use the tree root as a lead line into the lake.

I tried this first with a 10-stop ND filter to give me a 30-second exposure, but I also tried this shot, a 10-shot multi-exposure., smoothing the water off a little, but keeping more detail in the clouds and retaining sparkle in the water. It took about 10 attempts, as the wind was blowing down the lake, straight at me, and on many shots, there were water drops on the lens. Perseverence paid off, and I eventually managed this picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.