Red Kite

A nice sunny morning - but a strong wind which was quite cold again when walking across open fields.

The footpaths are beginning to dry out a bit - the mud has the consistency of treacle rather than soup now! It does make for hard walking and it playing havoc with my knees.

I spotted a red kite being harassed by a couple of crows - you see this so often and I am not sure why - you'd think the kite could just knock the crows back.

Anyway, I spent ages just standing there watching and then the kite was just swooping around in front of me and I realised that I hadn't actually taken any shots of it! Bad blipper...

So with lens at full 300mm and the bird barely covering the centre focus circle I grabbed a few shots. I liked this one the best as the sun was just catching the underneath of the wings. The image is cropped severely - to barely more than the 1200 px wide I upload to blip - so it is a bit coarse, but does show off the markings rather nicely.

Home for coffee and then I made a pot of vegetable soup using some leftovers from tea last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.