Seeing the Light!

The weather didn't quite live up to the forecast's promise, but at least there was some nice light when I went out for my anticipated stroll. I saw lots of birds too a Buzzard, a Sparrowhawk, a Merlin (I think), a mixed flock of Winter Thrushes, Greenfinches, Chaffinches, Blue Tits, Coal Tits, Great Tits, a couple of dozen Lapwing and a couple of hundred Golden Plover - oh, and a Red Grouse.
This was where the light and the view came together for a few brief moments.  It shows our nearby Moorland Fringe, where arable land gives way to rough pasture, then to heather Moorlands. For anyone who knows the Peak District, you can see Derwent Edge in the background. It runs for quite a few miles from Derbyshire into South Yorkshire. In the foreground is a shooting ground, where people who don't want to, or can't afford to shoot the Red Grouse pop instead at clay pigeons. It was quiet today.
Also, I'm hoping to shed some light into that dark hole between Christmas and New Year with a flying visit to Edinburgh for a Blipmeet, (see Meles post on the Blipmeet section of Activities) where I'm hoping to see some friends, old (in the sense that I've met them before), and new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.