Cigs

By Cigs

York Lane

It started mentally on Iona Street. Came into life on Dryden Street. And ends on York Lane.

After a long day, I found myself heading home; I knew exactly what I wanted to do. To be alone on a deserted street. To reflect on the moment. With a cigar. In my mind it was always going to end with a cigar....

Black paint on grey wall; just the outline. From the past few days; 2015.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is that.

There are at the time of writing no Cigs tags left unblipped in Edinburgh that I know of. Having scoured Shrubhill, explored Edmonstone and looked all over Leith - I'm sure there are unblipped Cigs out there, but I've yet to find them. Nor have the legion of you out there and on Facebook who have helpfully pointed out sightings. Special mentions to LizImbrie, Anth, rjevans6 and Ambioran for pointing me in the direction of ones I may otherwise have missed. If there are any not yet blipped that you know of, please - let me know.
 
Should any new ones appear (as they surely will - I have it on good authority from Spectrum the spray paint shop that he is still painting), I will happily blip any future sightings. I will do Cigs (the Book); there was a brief discussion about Cigs (The Movie) which needs some work and hopefully Cigs (The Retrospective) next summer.
 
I had thought about going through the (extensive) archives of Cigs shots, but in truth there's probably not that many that are of any real artistic merit that are worth posting. They didn't make the cut in the day, and probably its best to leave them unposted.

I will obviously continue to blip at various other journals with the usual hearty disregard for retinas, the laws of physics (as well as trespass) and who knows - when the idea next strikes - expect another journal with another suitably ridiculous modus operandi.

It's been an absolute riot doing Cigs; I've met many folk, blighted many more with Cigs goggles, and so far - not met the hero of the journal, but hey. There's time for that to happen.  I've explored my adopted hometown in detail that I wouldn't have thought possible, but it's been brilliant project.
 
Thank you all for watching, commenting, following, starring, starring in, hearting and generally tolerating Cigs. I appreciate all the support, interest, love and enthusiasm (as well as the bemusement, confusion, bewilderment...)

If you take nothing else from Cigs take this. Go and do a side project. Do it for you. Not for hearts or stars or comments. Do things on it you wouldn't do elsewhere. Just explore, innovate, reinterpret and enjoy.

**I hadn't realised Mono Monday was 'Celebrate'
So here's me celebrating the end of the Cigs blip. If I hadn't been driving I would have had champagne, too...!!**

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.