mambo

By mambo

Mono Monday- Celebrate- Knitted Nativity

When l was a primary school teacher, a mum of one of my pupils made and sold lots of knitted items at Christmas time.

About twenty years ago she made me this nativity set. It was a great teaching aid to celebrate Christmas as the majority of my pupils were not Christian. We had many celebrations from different religions over the school year from the six World Faiths.

As soon as we broke up for the holiday l would bring the set home to be part of our family Christmas.

I retired this year so the set is now permanently in my house.
My own Granchildren have loved it and have spent many hours rearranging the figures. It also includes a manger but it was too difficult to include in the scene.

I know mono means one colour and for me it usually is black and white but l felt a blue tint worked well as it is the colour so associated with Mary.

Thanks to Skeena for hosting this 100th MM challenge, surely worth a celebration!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.