The last sunset before the solstice...

The day dawned bright, but rapidly deteriorated to heavy rain. Just before sunset the clouds began to clear, so I nipped down to the Rowing Lake just in case something as magnificent as last year's solstice sunset might develop. Sadly this was the best of it, some rather dark and determined clouds, brushed with pink from the setting sun. Although the solstice is usually on the 21st, this year it falls on the 22nd, at 04.48 tomorrow morning, when I shall be soundly asleep (I hope!)

The rest of the day was spent cleaning and tidying, having a new printer installed and cooking for a solstice/Christmas gathering with friends tomorrow. Their eldest daughter is vegetarian and gluten-free, which has enabled me to try out some new recipes. The brownies made with teff flour look really good - I just hope the chestnut and seed pastry works just as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.