The Life and Times of ...

By PappaG

Memorable

Evening All,

Off to Edinburgh today....Handsome Boy and I went off to the castle on a mission....Mamma G, Mini G and Elder G went shopping....for shoes....!!!! ;0)

Handsome Boy and I passed the Olympic Rings that have eventually arrived here.

We went to the castle for Grandaddy G......his brother was killed in Tahiti after signing up with the Navy, underage, during the Second World War. He was 14 but stated he was 16. He died 2 years later. His grave is tended by locals in Tahiti. His name is in the memorial book in Edinburgh Castle inside the Scottish National War Memorial. we were not allowed to take photographs, despite my pleading that my Dad would never be able to make it here to see this......I managed though to order an extract from the book for him.....(and got a sneaky wee pic on my mobile!!!).....so all was not lost !!!

I leave you with this:

We Remember Them...
In the rising of the sun and in its going down,
We remember them;
In the blowing of the wind and in the chill of winter,
We remember them;
In the opening of buds and in the warmth of summer,
We remember them;
In the rustling of leaves and the beauty of autumn,
We remember them;
In the beginning of the year and when it ends,
We remember them;
When we are weary and in need of strength,
We remember them;
When we are lost and sick at heart,
We remember them;
When we have joys we yearn to share,
We remember them;
So long as we live, they too shall live
For they are now a part of us as

We remember them.

from Gates of Prayer,
Judaism Prayerbook

I made my Dad's day when I called him......;0)

Have a great evening ;0)

TTFN ;0)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.