The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Oh, Rapture!

Tonight, I once again made grilled pizza, and as usual, I decided to experiment on my personal pie.

No, those are not olives. They are Bing Cherries. Born on around the 4th of July.

"Cherries on pizza," you gasp?

Yes.

It was 100 degrees F outside this afternoon, and the thought of tomato sauce and cheese just didn't appeal to me. I wanted something exotic. Something different and awesome. A pizza that would capture the attention of my family, and leave them wondering what I was concocting at the grill.

Success! My younger daughter was hovering around me, wondering what I could possibly be dreaming up for my personal gastronomic pleasure. "I'm just waiting for mine to cool," she claimed.

The result was sumptuous. Really.

Ricotta, red onion, fresh rosemary and parsley, salt and pepper, Italian blended cheeses, sliced cherries, crushed red pepper, and a sprinkling of balsamic reduction.

This is something that my mother would NEVER have made. She wasn't a pizza lover, and certainly not adventurous in the kitchen. She may have humored me and tried a slice of this special pizza. She was really great that way.

I have 3 small slices left. (Ricotta is very rich.) If they survive the night, I may just enjoy them for lunch.

A bit of red, white, and blue green for the 4th of July!

What will you be eating tomorrow?

To my American friends, have a wonderful 4th of July holiday! To everyone else, Happy Wednesday!

Much love,

The Love Child Chronicles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.