Bags

I discovered today that shop assistants no longer say, 'Would you like a bag?' They say, 'Would you like a paper bag?'
 
I've been refusing bags for over 40 years so (rant alert) I've had a lot of practice at being extremely boring on this subject but plastic bags now (rightly) costing 5p in England doesn't make paper bags OK. I'm sure everyone knows that they are useless in the rain but it's much more important to know that 'paper bags require significantly more energy to manufacture and transport than plastic bags and normally have limited reusability. If disposed of in landfill, they are likely to degrade and release methane.'  (Source: wrap)
 
I can’t remember whether the first bag I refused was made of paper or plastic but I do remember the Boot's shop assistant telling me I had to have one otherwise the store detective would think I was shoplifting. I said I'd show them my receipt. She said that was irrelevant and insisted that I take a bag. We’ve progressed since then. At least it’s now OK to refuse a bag, but our overall consumption of them has also increased hugely.
 
Sorry. Very bad timing. It’s the season of superfluous wrapping goodwill. I’ll just go and bury myself, old bag that I am, under last year’s Christmas wrapping paper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.