matipac

By matipac

parkrun 25

You'll know if you regularly look at my blips that I am a massive fan of parkrun. To date I have taken part as a runner 83 times, and recently volunteered for the 25th time. This earned me a '25 volunteer' T-shirt, which arrived in the post today and is actually a really top quality technical running top. The success of parkrun as a community-focused force for good is a total good news story in todays' all too often self-centered and materialistic world. And for me the volunteers are the real heroes. Although I'm proud to have earned my '25' T-shirt and love the buzz of volunteering, there are thousands more people who have volunteered many many more times than me and I just want to say a massive thank you to all of them for their dedication in getting parkrun off the ground and selflessly setting up and running so many community-centered events around the UK and further afield.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.