billy_green

By billy_green

Satha

I think I have blipped 'Satha' before.
He's a member of my running club, and has the longest surname I know 'Alaganandasundarum'! 
Took me about a year before I could say it properly.
Satha and his wife were born in Sri Lanka, came to England 30 years ago and have 2 daughters who were born here.
If only all visitors to our country were like Satha.
I asked him once near Christmas what he did at Christmas (as I know he is a Hindu).
He said he puts up a tree, they all give presents and just 'join in' with everyone else. He said his daughters were born and grew up here and he wanted them to have our values and way of life and not feel they were missing out when their school friends celebrated Christmas.

Tonight after training I went round to Sathas (he is off injured at the moment) and we exchanged presents.
His tree is better than mine - I'm quite envious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.