Christmas Eva

No not a typo but the storm that is currently battering us.  Strangely for a storm like this she has brought us some snow and here the Benns on the north shore of your river have their winter hats on.

Christmas means many things to many people, for me it is a time to be endured and weathered, much like Eva, for many it is a time for celebration, for thankfulness, for forgiveness. I was thinking today as I walked about the friend I lost earlier this year, I didn't really know him,  but he was homeless and a self confessed alcoholic I sometimes met when I walked in the city in the early morning.  I would buy him some warm food and we would talk.  He was well educated and had held a very high powered job. He was around my age but looked so much older.  I was thankful for his passing these last few weeks, how difficult it must have been to try and stay dry on the streets in this weather.  I see so many people pan handling these days but when I look closely many are wearing expensive shoes and do not have the look of my friend who was truly homeless and I pass by.

I miss my friend but tonight I am thankful he is not suffering with his addiction or worrying about being warm and dry.


I guess what I am saying in a very verbose way is be thankful for what you have no matter how little you think it is, be thankful for the love of family, for the love of friends and for some the kindness of strangers...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.